The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The question as to how the government should allocate its budget for different sectors of society has been a topic of considerable controversy. many people argue that more funds should be given to ameliorate the basic needs of the public and not waste taxpayers’ money on the investment of art. From my perspective, this idea is absolutely justifiable. For starters, society may not have serious problems if there are no cinemas, theatres or concerts near their place; however, they do suffer deleterious consequences in the absence of quality schools and hospitals. Clearly, nowadays, the internet is prevalent and most people can gain easy access to the beneficial facility at ease and a low cost. They do not need to go to the cinema or theatre to relax as they can get ahold of anything they like on streaming channels such as YouTube. In contrast, without a school or hospital of good standards near their home, young people may not have a good environment to better their studies, cultivate their talents; in addition, sick people may not have access to modern technologies to help cure their health problems. In fact, there are millions of cases of deaths due to a lack of highly qualified doctors and treatment equipment at local hospitals. Furthermore, the cost of building modern theatres are prohibitively expensive, which often does not reflect the public needs. For example, there was a proposal to construct an Opera House theatre in HCMC where opera music can be admired. This idea has been under serious public criticism for its ridiculous use of the city’s revenue in the midst of an urgent matter facing its residents – poor housing conditions in the area being planned. Besides the inhabitants there argue that the existence of the theatre is just to cater for the rich, not the public. The reason is a ticket to an opera performance may cost from $100 to $200, which can amount to half a monthly income of an average person. So, who actually needs such a luxury. All in all, there is certainly a need to uphold a country’s values and traditions and investing in developing arts, music and building theater is a good cause. However, such concern is just secondary to the primary necessities of education and health care for the public.