people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been believed by some that we can predict one's culture and personality based on the way they dress. I totally disagree with this statement. This essay will explore my view in details. First of all clothing style is mostly influenced by fashion and style more than culture and character. In fact, fashion designers are the ones who choose the design clothing factories produce them in a large mass. Therefore, people choose among the options available for them not based on their culture. For example back in the 60s when thick high heels were in fashion, people around the world regardless of their culture, religion and character would wear them because they were popular. Another reason why clothing style does not speak about one's personality traits lies in the fact that different countries also follow their own style of clothing. For instance, in Iran where women have to cover their hair with a scarf, they can not walk on the street without a scarf even if they do not believe they should wear hijab. Thus, another factor that can impact clothing choice is the pressure of the government in some Muslim countries. Last but not least, it is not fair to judge people from their appearance in the first place as clothing design change very quickly based on occasions. In other words,it would be very superficial to start assuming about someone's culture just by looking at their physical appearance and what clothes they wear at some point in time. For example, all Muslims around the world cover their hair with a scarf and they do not wear bikinis and short sleeves. This does not tell about who they are as a person before we start talking to them and get to know them because they can change their clothing style over time. To sum up, even though some might argue with me saying they can judge people's personality and culture by what they wear. I would disagree believing it is totally inaccurate to describe people's culture and character by those superficial factors.