Some people believe that technology has led to many positive developments in their lives, while others think technology is gradually taking over control of the way people live.

In the past 50 years technologies have made a huge leap forward and have penetrated into many aspects of our lives. This has led to the division of society into 2 groups: those who believe that these changes are beneficial in many ways, while others are worried about our dependence on innovations. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and share my outlook. It is true that people are gradually losing control over their lifestyle to technology. One of the reasons is an addiction to social media. Although it takes little time to watch one video or read a post, algorithms will recommend the ones that we might like the most, resulting in constant scrolling over hours. For instance, some teenagers find themselves consuming content past their bedtime, causing a reduction in time spent on sleeping and, consequently, health and productivity issues. Moreover, humanity has learned to store many pieces of data that otherwise we would have to remember by ourselves. For example, previously, if a person would want to go home with a taxi they would need to have their home address remembered, while now an application on a smartphone already has that information written on its memory. This can potentially lead to the degradation of the brain's abilities to memorise and not forget. On the other hand, despite some disadvantages, I agree with the positive view of advancement. In particular possibility to work, shop and study anywhere as long as there is a connection to the internet, which can free an office worker from the stress and time wastage that comes with commuting or queuing in shops which can be reattributed towards having a rest, taking care of family and other things that can make a person happy. Besides, it helps us to learn and study without having to travel to attend lectures, thus making education more affordable. In conclusion, even though both opinions are relevant, I believe that technology is mostly making our lives more enjoyable. Drawbacks that were mentioned above, can be dealt with if an effort is made by an individual.