Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to advancement in technology, employees prefer to communicate through online platforms rather than physical meet. This trend has both merits and demerits. I believe that despite having few drawbacks, it has been beneficial in numerous ways. To commence with, there are two major advantages of this notion. First and foremost, applications that connect their users make communication faster and easier from anywhere in the world. For instance, if a team wants to connect people from different locations in the world, they can use a zoom application to connect at a particular time from any place. Secondly, this also acts as a cheap mode to communicate with other colleagues; as a result, the company can save expenses such as hotel stay, conference hall cost, to schedule physical meeting. Thus, having such online conversations are beneficial. On the other hand, this development has few shortcomings. The primary disadvantage of this approach is that staff cannot meet each other face-to-face which affect their relations and bonding. For example, when employees meet during break time, they share quality time with each other, however, due to virtual,meets it is not possible. Another drawback is that some official work requires physical presence such as, inspection, auditing, as a result of which it can affect decision making if it happens virtually. Hence, this trend can be disadvantageous. To conclude, although there are vivid drawbacks of having online meetings, its merits have clear victory over them because the benefits such as, fast and cheap mode of communication, which cannot be overlooked. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.