Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In the past few years, the tourism industry has become more prominent due to the increasing number of people travelling each year. Although there are many exceptionally beautiful places with better condition, many adventurous travellers opt to visit places where conditions are a bit unstable and inhabitable like the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. One obvious reason why some would choose to go to places with extreme conditions is primarily that they seek extreme adventure that few people would dare to do. To exemplify, travellers who visit places with extreme conditions like the Sahara desert would feel delighted because they think that they are dauntless enough to survive such an experience. Thus, they could consider this as one of their travel achievements. Another thing to consider is the knowledge that they acquire in such travel. An example of this is the trip to Antarctica in where there are many activities to be done like watching flightless birds, penguins and even whales. Also, visitors have the chance to listen to some educational stories about how climate change happens in Antarctica. On the flip side, being enthralled of adventures in such difficult conditions could impose a health threat. Some unfavourable health disturbances like heat stroke, dehydration and fatigue can probably happen in the middle of one's journey. To exemplify, travellers who have underlying conditions but still dared to try such a tough adventure can incapacitate them to continue their travel. As a result, this could make their effort go down the drain. Moreover, one greatest drawback of such an attempt to travel to places with uncertain conditions is that it could lead to unexpected demise. Despite the government fair warning, an American who was in his early 20's was boldly sailed to a deserted Indian Island and he was shot to death with bows and arrows by an isolated tribe. In conclusion, venturing in such places with supreme conditions can make someone ecstatic and feel indifferent. It is, however, detrimental to others and could possibly lead to failure to survive.