Medical services should be run by profit-making companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether healthcare should be operated by profit-oriented providers is up for debate. I believe there are profound repercussions if humantarian services are controled by enterprises. First and foremost, this phenomenon will enlarge the gap between the wealthy and the deprived. If medical systems are designed for being profit chasing, limited manpower and resources will be occupied by the top 1% and this will force the poor resort to suffer from curable disease and lower possibiity of survive. Countries without public health services such as the US, for example, is one of the regions where underprivileged people are trapped in a vicious circle of being ill without insurance cover for prohibitive medical bills. Furthermore, fundamental researches often involve long-term investment, which may not seen profitable, could be dismissed due to funding issues. The new mRNA vaccines for COVID-19, for example, took more than 20 years of investment and are lifesavers during this pandemic. On the other hand, there are various problems for non-profit healthcare providers. Financial supports are the constant challenges. Regions with national health services, even though with the aid from governments, still plagued by disruptive distribution of service users. Some patients taking the healthcare systems for granted, maybe visit emergency unit for less serious symptoms and wear out medical staff. Subsequently, doctors and nurses are losing their motivation towards advanced researches and techniques. Taiwan which is famous of affordable health infrustructure, for instance, are facing the looming trend of no youngsters in the medicare workforce. In conclusion, governments should seek a balance of profit-oriented and welfare healthcare systems to offer the public a sustainable society.