Online education is becoming more popular as an alternative to traditional classroom learning. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the topic of the pluses and minuses of modern online learning has sparked a heated debate. While some individuals claim that old methods show better performance because of higher efficiency, others insist that digital learning provides a more convenient experience for students today. Personally, I strongly believe that online educational benefits outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, e-learning has a lot of pros compared to offline with the most popular example being flexibility. Online students are able to manage their timetable to fit in their plans or extracurricular activities. For example, you can move a lesson by a couple of hours to prepare for other projects. It is much easier for both the pupil and the teacher because online meetings are not as formal as face-to-face ones. As a result, it gives children much more freedom and teaches them to be responsible. On the other hand, personal meetings could be more effective for children with focus-keeping issues. According to scholars from the Olso pedagogic Institute, nowadays children remember 25% less information when learn online. Most students’ attention is weak, so they often can’t stay focused when they don’t see the teacher personally. Therefore, a quarter of the material during the lesson will be missing and time with money will be wasted. Considering all of the above, although both trends have the right to exist, I’m sure that in today’s fast-paced world, the most important skill for future generations will be flexibility, so we should improve this from childhood.