Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

International sports events are encouraged to improve the cultural integrities of countries across the globe. Predominantly there are two contradicting debates are in place, while, a part of society believes that the global sports events are good for the hosting country, others think it as bad. I will discuss both the views in detail and give my opinion on why they are valuable additions to the country. Some people believe that one of the important benefits of global sports events is the substantial economical growth to the hosting country. There will be an increase in trade exchanges happens between the nations during these events, which subsequently leads to the growth of the currency. Recent Olympics conducted by Beijing for instance has welcomed 165 countries across the globe to participate, which has seen a spike in its tourism industry valuation. This consequently leads to an exchange of trades and currency between people to elevate the economy of the hosted nation. Others say that this is not a good practice to encourage these kinds of events, as they might lead to security threats & environmental damage. On the front, the hosting nations to be very careful and take extra precautions to safeguard the participants from threats, who are visiting these games. Cricket world-cup match between India and Pakistan will always have higher security threats to the hosting nation for instance, due to their rival behaviours from the inception of both the countries emergence. In addition, due to globalisation and increased travel between countries the fossil-fuel consumptions are causing damage to the environment to a large extent. The latest survey results, for example, shows the detrimental air quality across the globe, which is leading to several health issues. In conclusion, while, a portion of society believes that international sports events have their own demerits, the others contradict this view. Although there are certain problems with these events in the form of security threats and climate damage, I completely agree with the number of benefits that they will bring to the hosting nations in the form of economical growth.