Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Incidents involving traffic factors are undeniably tragic, thus, recently has a debate arisen surrounding the strictness of punishments applied to road regulation violators. In this essay shall I explore both of the perceptions beforehand coming to a conclusion. On the one hand, many individuals contend that strict punishments might help to encourage people to drive more safely. The main argument of proponents of this viewpoint put forward is that penalties for drivers may act as a deterrent and reduce repeated offences. A clear example can be seen in Azerbaijan, the government have introduced tough penalties against high speed in order to diminish road collisions. Hence, this reform has decreased dramatically the number of car crashes in the country. On the other hand, despite tough punishments mitigating traffic accidents, I claim that other precautions might play a vital role in developing road safety. One of the obvious reasons is that allocating more budget for road infrastructure improvements, such as better lighting or as much as road signs can reduce accidents. In other words, the more light the roads are, the safer they become. For instance, in Germany, there are greater lighted roads which contribute to safer driving conditions. Further justification is that implementing some advanced traffic management technologies might lead to reduced accidents. As an example, there are intelligent traffic lights and speed cameras which not only decrease the road collision rate but also improve the safer driving environment in Japan. In conclusion, even though strict punishment prevents people from breaking road laws, I am of the opinion that better traffic infrastructure and using of technologies play a pivotal role in alleviating accidents.