Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

The detrimental effect of social media on both active users and their society has been of public concern. I completely agree with those who deem these social platforms a source of various problems for the society and its members. Rare are individuals who subscribe to social media websites and do not suffer from mental troubles such as addiction, anxiety, and depression. In order to promote user engagement and increase their revenues from advertisements, social networking websites adopt various manipulative measures, many of which threaten the mental well-being of its users. In other words, they implement algorithms to ensure that users spend hours scrolling their timeline, or they utilise various incentives such as likes and comments to encourage users to share more of what was traditionally considered private. As a result, individuals end up feeling addicted to these websites and the delicate line between public and private life gradually disappears, exposing them to even more mental pressure. On a broader scale, social networking sites' unfavorable influences on society are mainly due to the anonymity offered by these websites. Individuals, having been exposed to fake news and hoaxes generated and propagated on social media, may interact with others anonymously. Violence inducing comments and discussions created this way may lead to actual acts of violence in the society. For example, the murder of Samuel Patty, the french professor accused of humiliating muslims, was attributed directly to discussions that were held about him on Twitter a few days earlier. Therefore, unless media literacy is instilled in users, social media websites may lead to misinformation,disunity and waves of violence in society. In conclusion, social networking mastodontes like Facebook, and Twitter pose a substantial danger to individuals ' mental health as well as to societies' unity and peace.