The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the years, the media had started to mainly concentrate on posting negative news, such as terror attacks, political issues and other natural disasters rather than sharing positive announcements. Some say that having news reports so tragic leads to damage to individuals and society itself and I agree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain why sharing only negative stories is bad for the world. Firstly, sharing only problems and emergencies can have direct effects on people's mental health. Experts claim that surrounding yourself with negative people and news leads to negative thoughts. Consequently, depression rates are increasing and many people nowadays suffer from poor mental health, mostly due to constantly hearing the terrible scandals. For example, in the year 2020, when the Coronavirus pandemic hit the globe, the only news that was spread was about how the issue is getting worse. As a result, many felt desperate, frustrated and depressed. Moreover, focusing on the awful stories that happen in the world leads to an emotional split in society. Most of the tragic announcements reported on the media cause an emotional reaction from their viewers, leading to physical and violent actions towards others. For instance, while the government in Israel was recently trying to legislate new rules, the media was filled with stories about this issue. It led to protests and riots on the streets from citizens who were against and in favour of the change. Having it posted on the first page of every newspaper only made the situation more controversial, the Israeli citizens were mad at each other and many claim that the public is in a social crisis. While it is true that the news ' main purpose is to educate the world about the current state of the globe, therefore, it should be honest and straightforward, sometimes it does more damage than good and in my view, it is vital to report more positive developments that happen in the world. In conclusion, I believe that having the news reports and the media focused more on problems rather than happy outcomes is harmful to individuals and society as a whole, based on mental and emotional reasons.