There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Lack of affordable housing is a serious problem in many cities. There are some people who think that the solution for this issue only can be formulated by the government. I strongly agree with this statement since they have enough resources to handle the scenario effectively. Firstly, constructing a well-planned and low-cost houses requires huge a amount of financial support that can only offer by the government sector. This is because the authority has funds since they levy taxes from its citizens and generate revenue from various businesses. For example, in many developed countries, the Uk and the USA, buiding housing colonies under the state, rather thn in that the residents. From these examples, it is evident that how significant the role of governmental bodies in this. Secondly, apart from money, other resources such as man and materials are also required. Finding a suitable place for the housing can be a challenge as this may involve serious legal proceedings that can be properly handled by the authority. For instance, sometimes, old buildings in the proposed place can be knocked down to make a way for the new one. This often creates some protest from society and may erupt a communal riot. In such situation, only, the state can tackle the issue amicably, which rarely delt by individuals. Therefore, the government should come forward and take the responsibility in dealing with the shoratage of housing. In conclusion, people have a different opinion on who is responsible in constructing and handling problems of poor housing facilities in the urban areas. I totally consider that the state is the in charge to construct affordable homes in cities.