Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

They say a country's wealth is measured by the sports facilities it has. This proverb is not entirely wrong. According to some, organising international sports events in a country is not good, while others feel that it is absolutely important. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I consider these events are not only good for the youth but also for countries economy. Some people believe that sports events are not that important, and for hosting such programs taxpayers' money is wasted. A huge fund is required for organising such extravaganza of lights, fireworks, trophies, stadiums, and accommodation for participants. If a country is financially weak to back up this huge cost, the common people of the country suffer a lot. Bangladesh, for example, organised the Commonwealth Games last year, after which the economy of the country faced a topsy-turvy situation. Thus some people feel that affording these kinds of heavy expenditure are not wise for nations with poor economy. Although organising international sports events costs enormously, there are numerous advantages also. First of all these events enhances nation's international relationship with others. As players from various countries participate, its builds good relations between two governments, which gives long term benefits to the country itself. India set an example in establishing a healthy relationship with other countries of the UN by organising and participating in various sports competitions at international level. In addition to that, arranging such events also invites sponsorship for all types of sports, be it athletics or games like chess. This helps the less popular sports to get some attention and encouragement amongst youth. Hockey for instance was less cultured and not adequately promoted in India, until the country organised the Olympics and won medals in it. Therefore, hosting international sports events benefits the nation itself. In conclusion, despite the huge expenditure and after-effects of it on the economy, the countries should consider organising such events.