Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advancement of cellular technology, the use of mobile phones is now a basic life necessity. Its usage in some educational centres is limited, due to the increased rate of distractions associated with it. I believe the restricted use of these devices in schools is a positive development to improve learning and social skills. Restricting the usage of phones in the classroom can improve learning. Cellphones have their benefits, such as communication, easy access to informative news and safety, but their use in a learning environment is questionable. The sole presence of these devices makes individuals subconsciously check them for notifications and this action can distract your attention from whatever lecture been taught. Likewise, classes can be interrupted by a ringtone affecting teachers and students alike. Consequently, these devices shorten attention span and affect academic learning. Therefore, their usage in lecture rooms should be restricted. However, the limitation of its usage in other domains of school is equally important. In recent years, students spend a majority of their spare time on social media through phones. In other words, break hours for lunch, extracurricular or physical activities are utilized unproductively on the internet or playing games instead of actively socializing and creating memories. For example, lunch hours are spent with their eyes glued to these items rather than the people eating with them. This dependence on mobile gadgets for entertainment will eventually result in poor social communication skills and time management. In conclusion, the withholding of personal phones during school hours will result in greater academic achievement and social skills needed in the workforce. Therefore, this is a positive development and should be made compulsory in all educational institutions.