In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Back in history, educational opportunities had been dedicated to males, while females were deprived of schooling. Even though both genders have equal access to educational opportunities these days, there are still some social pressures based on gender. While boys are more interested in science-based majors, whereas girls prefer arts disciplines. From my perspective, I believe this trend will be changed. On the one hand, the ability is the factor that affects their choice. First, girls memorize longer than boys and a variety of things such as languages need more brain space to stay in. In contrast, boys try to follow logical puzzles, and prefer solving MAth than sit still for mastering language grammar. Besides, women are considered as the ones has to do house chores and have more spare time for making art, while men are known as breadwinners, who handle financial matters. Despite this thing happening a decade ago, people still believe it as a fact of life. That is the reason why, boys usually improve their science background, and girls are the best choice for making art. As a consequence, these gender inequalities have been inherited from generation to generation, as a type of stereotype. However, these things depend on their ability and strengths. In this era, as more information people can approach through Internet gates, more tendency might be changed. For instance, in the past, women thought cooking and sewing skills were a must for them because the gender trend and mindsets at that time affected them. But now, gender is no longer a barrier to subject choice, though, since we can access the open-minded option and think more freely now. As a consequence, we have the right to select whatever we desire based only on our preferences. In conclusion, those stereotypes still remain these days, this trend should be changed by raising awareness of equality. Since, there is no difference between girls and boys in choosing their path.