Some people say that the best way to improve the overall general health of the public is to offer more sports facilities. Others say that this would have little effect and other measure are necessary to improve public health. Discuss both views.

General public well-being is one of the greatest concerns in modern society all over the globe. There are different views regarding how to cope up with this issue. Some believe that it is an individual's responsibility to take care of themselves, while others feel that it is the government's role. In this essay, I will discuss both views, and explain why I consider that the government has to play a major role to ensure good fitness for its people. There is one view that health should be one's own concern. As our body is a temple, where the soul resides its entire life, we should take care of it. Avoiding junk food, eating healthy foods such as fresh vegetables with regular exercise, for instance, are the steps that can be followed by people. If individuals are not enough concerned and continue to live a sedentary lifestyle, the threats to public well-being will not reduce. Although people need to be more responsible, the government role in the betterment of public health is also undeniable. The government can ensure basic necessities for all citizens by reducing air pollution and providing a clear water supply. In West-Bengal, for example, the respiratory disease rate was lowered after the government limited the carbon dioxide emission from factories. Unless the aforementioned essentials are ensured, only self-care by individuals will not help. In addition to this, the government should provide better medical infrastructure and health insurances to citizens. Kerala has set an example by fighting covid disaster by providing good health facilities to the general public. In conclusion, although some people feel that overall general health can be improved by providing more sports facilities, others believe it will benefit to a little extent. In my opinion, the significant importance of self-care by individuals does not waive governments responsibility for public health without easy to access amenities funded by the government people's well-being cannot be achieved.