Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some educational institutions have banned the use of mobile phones in their facilities. Although it might be seen by others as a welcome development, I do not see it as such with my reasons based on the usefulness of smartphones in our world today. It cannot be argued that since the invention of mobile phones, we have experienced technological advancements. One of such is the use of Goggle and other search engines. Students can easily research assignments, topics and classwork given to them by their teachers. However, it is viewed by some people that it makes them lazy and unwilling to read hard-copy textbooks. In my view, this is wrong as these textbooks can also be read through phones and also a quick Internet search also allows for broader disposal to published articles, thereby, giving a wider knowledge and more clarity. For instance, a student can get a better understanding of a subject not well understood in a class by watching videos about it on YouTube. Furthermore, the use of mobile gadgets allows for the faster dissemination of news among the scholars as well as with the school management. For example, through a class online group chat urgent messages can be passed quicker to everyone and as such the excuse of not being informed gets circumvented. Some say, that this is absolutely unnecessary. That written notice should be used instead. However, this should not be the case as there could be a problem of people missing out on the information for one particular reason or the other. In conclusion, the restriction placed on the use of online gadget is of a negative impact and certainly of a disadvantage. Therefore, I reiterate my reasons being that the world we live in has evolved in regards to technology and as such should be used in a learning environment.