Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The advances in medical field has taken an immense leap forward due to which humans are now able to live a much healthier and longer life. Because of the extended life span, some of the individuals believe that the retirement age should be exponentially increased. The world stands polarized on this issue. While, I believe that the older generation tends to loose the enthusiasm to work, therefore, they should not be allowed to do so. As we know that while recruting an employee, an employer look out for the experience that he holds. Even though the aged people has a lot of it, however, after a certain period of time the cognitive abilities of human beings are supposed to tone down. For these reasons, most of the companies have set the limit on working age. For instance, a 65 years old employee having dementia will have more chances of commiting errors even though he might be having a probability of greater lifespan. So, according to me, the restricted working age is meant to be a correct decision. Furthermore, another considerable factor is that they have lived all of their lives by working for themselves, their families and for the economy. Moreover, many times the elderly people lives all by themselves, so in that case, the added pressure to earn their bread and butter may lead to different mental and emotional ailments like depression. To avoid such circumstances, the younger generation as well as the government should give them a break from hectic working schedules and take care of these people in their old- age. In conclusion, apart from the fact that the humans are now having longer lifespan, the retirement age should be restricted because of the medical conditions that people may suffer from. After a particular age, people who forcefully work may suffer from trauma and depression. It becomes our responsibility to nurture and protect the older generation.