Tipping is a common practice at restaurants in many countries. Some people believe tipping is a great way to show service workers you appreciate them, while others believe it should be the responsibility of the boss or company to pay their workers. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a common ongoing debate about whether tipping should be given by customers or employers. While a significant number of people believe that paying extra money to service workers is a good sign that demonstrates the service was good, others argue that restaurant owners should pay this money to their workers. I strongly believe that tipping should remain customers' responsibility because they can pay extra money for their satisfaction that increases employees' income, whereas restaurants can only pay small percentages based on workers ' salaries. On the one hand, paying extra money for the service received in a restaurant has a great impact on workers ' lives. This is because their salaries are very low, but a tip can boost their financial situations by receving more money than their base salaries through the satisfaction of visitors. For instance, in Canada, tipping has become a widely accepted social norm, allowing service workers to significantly supplement their income. Therefore, tipping triggers a considerable increase in workers ' revenue while their base salary doesn't allow them to live at a high standard level. On the other hand, one of the common belief is that restaurants should take responsibility for paying salaries at a standard level. The main reason is that customers place an order based on the menu prices; however, when they finish their plates, they see different prices that place a strain on their budgets due to tipping. To illustrate, in Montreal, many restaurants strongly expect customers to leave a tip after the meal, which can create financial pressure, especially for those on a tight budget. Thus, visitors not only feel under pressure but also cannot calculate the exact amount of money they are going to pay. In conclusion, although some people believe that tipping should be paid by restaurant owners, I firmly maintain that customers ' tipping is a main source of income for workers, as their base salary is very low. While social expectations encourage customers to tip, this practice still allows them to directly reward workers for good service.