Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, older communication methods have been rendered obsolete by social media, and most peple prefer to follow news and events online. The benefits and drawbacks of this trend will be compared in this essay. Personally, I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One could benefit immensely if they use social media. These online platforms are significantly fast compared to their ancestors such as TC channels and newspapers. After any shocking news from any part of the world, news spread through social media in just a few seconds. Moreover, it is definitely a cost-benefit way of communication. It is possible to lease a cellphone including unlimited data access which allows users to send and receive text, photo and video messages on social media for less than 50 dollars per moth. However, old telephones cost dollars per each time phoning others, and membership of each newspaper or new broadcasting agency is approximately 50 dollars a month. The most important demerit of social media is its addictive nature. Indeed, some users find various types of news about sports, politics and fashion interesting so that they gey used to following news whenever possible. It is a time-consuming technology if users become addicted, and it will have negative impacts on other aspects of life such as work and interpersonal relationships. In addition, there are sometimes fake news spread on the internet which might become misleading. While news on official agencies are often fact-checked, it is hardly possible to verify the news in the cyber space. A prime example of this was romours about COVID-19 which were not verified by the World Health Organization. In conclusion, the advantages of social media suh as its speed and expenses outweigh the disadvantages including its addictive nature and impossibility of its contents to be fact checked.