In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on TV and computer and video games. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It is believed that the growth of illegal activities in some nations is resulted from violent programs from television or games. From my perspective, I partly argree with this statement and I shall put forth some ideas to support my arguments in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the surge of reality shows, films or computer games that contain brutal images has raised concerns for parents and authorities. In fact, frequent exposure to violent and bloody images from video games may presumably bring detrimental effects on cognitive development of teenagers and youngsters. These programs may initially stimulate their curiosity and make them become addicted to killing activities and tend to imitate these actions in their real life. For instance, it is reported that a large proportion of adolescent law breakers are loyal fans of violent games. Consequently, over exposure to violent programs may make children become more careless and violent in the future. On the other hand, there are also other reasons that account for the rise of criminal in one country. Poverty is a crucial factor that affects the crime level of one particular area. Within poor areas that receive less concern from local authorities where people have low education level and out-of-date facilities, the crime rate is obviously higher compared to wealthier areas. Other issues such as family concern or law enforcement on crime are also influential factors on the increase of crime. In conclusion, while I agree that frequent interactions with violence from TV programs or games may contribute to the increase of adolescent criminal rate, I also believe that other factors such as poverty, family concern and law also play crucial factors.