Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, being a good member of society and making a positive contribution to society have become essential value standards in our life. Thus, there is a considerable debate about whether it is more the duty of parents or schools to raise a well-qualified member of society. As regards for this case, I will scrutinise both views along with related examples. Some people believe that parents are responsible for teaching their children basic social norms. Otherwise, some inappropriate behavioral habits could emerge before their school ages. For example, children can learn how to greet others, make polite requests, and show table manners at home. These are the most basic social rules which are closely related to people's daily life. Without these lessons as a solid foundation, children may find it very difficult to integrate into school life. Opponents, however, argue that school should play a more critical role in educating children to behave in a socially accepted way. Schools can take advantage of different rules to help students avoid bad behaviors and habits, such as bullying, cheating, and interrupting teachers' lectures. As a result, children can learn how to get along with peers friendly and respect elders. In addition, school courses can also equip children with essential theoretical knowledge, which is hard to be completed by parents. This academic training also allows children to think critically and enhance their problem-solving skills. Thus they can make a positive contribution to society using their professional knowledge and skills. In my view, home education is as important as school education, and both play a vital role in different stages of a child's upbringing and different aspects of their overall development. The raising of a competent member of society cannot be achieved without the efforts of both parents and schools.