Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. You should give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

There is a currently contentious argument over whether parents are the best educator for children. Although parents can have significant impacts on their children, I would argue that parents are not always the best teacher, and there are still cases where many other factors, such as school education, have an equally important effect on children ’s growth. Parenting is sometimes recognized as the most important factor mainly because parents start to influence their children from the first day that they were born. Meanwhile, children usually spend most of their times with their parents in their childhoods and tend to mimic their parents ’ behaviours. Thus, parents could set examples for children in many social norms, such as greeting others, making polite requests, and showing table manners. These basic rules can be taught by parents in daily life and have a great influence on their children to set a good habit and create positive value. However, it worth noting that there are still some specific situations where parents can not act as the best educators. For example, in families where parents are violent, abuse of drugs, bad examples set by parents might lead to terrible consequence for their children. In that cases, school education shall play a more essential role in shaping children ’s values and minds. Children could learn how to get along with their peers and respect the elderly from communication with classmates and teachers, which can potentially contribute to getting rid of detrimental effects from their parents. In conclusion, parenting is essential to children ’s growth especially considering teaching basic social skills and setting role models, while there are still specific occasions where parenting may not effectively educate children.