Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on countries travalled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued the increasing number of tourists from overseas might adversely affect the host country. Although I think there might be some negative points, I believe the positive aspect of tourism outweighs the negative part. Both sides will be explored in this essay. On the one hand, the environment of the host country might be damaged. It means those who are visiting a place usually use means of transport such as aeroplane and train to reach their destinations, and it is obvious that using these means causes not only air contamination but also noise pollution. Moreover, there are unfortunately a considerable number of visitors who are not used to cleaning up what they have brought to the beaches or other attractions in nature after themselves, and it can make destinations spoiled. Therefore, the environmental consequents of tourism as its negative aspect must be considered. On the other hand, tourism is the backbone of the economy of a country. Indeed, tourists from other countries, especially the more developed ones, usually bring a lot of money to spend on souvenirs, accommodation and transport which can act as a sustainable source of profit for the host country. It can also generate employment in not only the hospitality industry but also other sectors of the country. The infrastructures such as rapid trains, airport terminals and communications can develop if the economic level of the country improves because of the financial benefits of tourism. In conclusion, I vehemently believe the positive aspect of increasing foreign tourist numbers, which brings financial benefits, outweighs its environmental footprints.