Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local communities?

In today's world, many shop owners are keeping their shops open for long hours, almost seven days a week. In my view, this is a positive step which is beneficial for both customers and society. Firstly, from the shopper's perspective, they can purchase items more conveniently and affordably due to this extended time of stores. Indeed, as each profession's working hours are increased, adjusting the timing between office and shopping becomes arduous for ordinary working people. However, these extra opening hours of stores would allow them to buy at their own convenient time at any day. In addition, because of an increase in customers and profit, shop owners can give not only lucrative offers and but also huge discounts. In India, for instance, many shopping centres provide 50% discount, or free item offers if the purchase has been made late at night. As a result, shopping is now extremely cheap for many people. Secondly, this new time system has played a significant role in community development. As shops extend their opening time, business is growing, which creates problems like an increased workload and less workforce. Therefore, more employees need to be hired to cope up with this issue. For example, if a store stays open 24 hours instead of 6 hours a day, employees will work in shifts. This means shop owners will recruit more people to complete the requirement. Such increasing demand for labour would help a country's employment situation leading to national economic growth. In conclusion, opening hours of the retail outlets are increasing in current years, which has many advantages. The consumers can get the efficient time and less price to purchase items, while the community will also develop with a rise in employment. Hence, In my view, this is a positive trend.