The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Smoking is one of the rapidly growing concerns across the world. Myriad problems due to tobacco consumption is a well know problem, however, a lot of people cannot leave this habit due to their addiction to it. In this essay, I will discuss both the important reasons and solutions like why is this happening? and how can we eradicate it in society? with the most appropriate examples. Coming to the causes of increased cigarette consumption, predominantly there are two important aspects are observed. The primary reason is the younger generation being persuaded by other people at an early stage of their life for their passion. Shocking results revealed by one of the Indian research institutes say that, for instance, 48% per cent of the university students are tasting the cigarette during their graduation. Adding to this, the nicotine content of tobacco products, however, are causing people to get addicted and continue it as a habit. To the best of my knowledge, on average, smoking as a culture will continue a minimum of 5 years in one's life, for example, even though, they try avoiding it. Solutions are being derived and to be implemented to counter this issue. While, citizens accountability being the best solution to stop this, which is anyhow not happening, stringent policies by the government with higher penalties will work to get rid of this problem. Massive fines, for instance, rupees ten thousand to be imposed on a person who is smoking in the public area. The other thought could be, to increase awareness among the public with proper advertising methodologies by focusing on the emotional quotient like loss of their family relations will surely help. Showing ads on critical diseases of tobacco consumption, for example, throat and lung cancer, which eventually leads to abandoning their families will help to create panic in the smoker mind. In conclusion, smoking not only causes cancer but also kills. Although, people know these facts they are not leaving it as a habit. While there are reasons for this behaviour in the form of passion to initiate, the addictive content to continue it as habituation, strict policies and definitive awareness schemes by the government will help to eradicate this problem from the roots.