Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

An inappropriate diet, that is full of unsaturated fats, sugar, and preservatives, is considered to be the main reason for many medical issues, for instance, hypertension, diabetes, obesity, cancer, and others, that burden the health sector, community, and jeopardise one's life. It is considered by many that taxing junk food will help to alleviate the problem, while others believe that such a practice is not just to others and not needed. This essay will discuss both views and will support the argument that the financial penalty for fast food is unacceptable. On the one hand, it is argued by some that, if the government taxes people and unhealthy cuisines, they will transform into more healthy options. In other words, individuals and society will avoid any extra financial burden and will opt into tax-free easy food. In addition, this action will create an obstacle towards accessible and cheap food option. Furthermore, this will play on psychology as well as announcing that there are fines on unhealthy food will create public awareness that this is a wrong choice and should be abandoned. On the other hand, food is considered a choice by some and the freedom to choose should be granted in modern society. Forcing a population to divert into a certain type of food may be unfair. Also, economically disadvantaged families find fast street food a cheap source of food to keep them fed when other "healthy" option can be very expensive to attain. Moreover, most modern age diseases are caused not only by diet but also by a sedentary lifestyle, stress, and unawareness of healthy food. Therefore, applying taxes may not address the causes of the problems and, as a result, not just fail to solve the issue but may also create more difficulties. In my opinion, fining fast meals, although holds good intention, is not an evidence-based nor informed decision and should not be done. In conclusion, choosing the wrong diet is a main cause of most diseases, however, a proper change in lifestyle and food choice should come from the inside of an individual and not forced by taxes. particularly, by changing their habits following education and motivation.