It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In today's world, people try to appreciate or show their feeling to one another by giving gifts. Although, there are arguments that those gifts often are wasted if the people do not want that present or they already have it. For instance, If I already have an iPhone and if anyone gives me another iPhone it would just be useless because I won't be able to use two phones at the same time. Additionally, It a feeling of love or joy for friends and family to exchange gifts with each other on special occasions. Sometimes, I disagree that money is wasted on things people don't want. Because it's a way of certain people expressing love to their friends and family and it should not think as waste else it should be appreciated. However, there are people who agree with this thought that the money is misspent on the gifts. For example, there was a time when one of my friends gifted me the gym equipment, although, I did not need that when I received it, I started using that equipment in order to keep myself healthy. On the other hand, I think money is wasted if you buy presents which people do not want. Because you don't know what people need or already have in their homes. Due to, this you buy them a gift which they already have and that gift is left in the corner unused. Therefore, If you are giving them something it's better to have enough information about the person you are gifting. Like, when I gifted my friend an apple watch. I knew he was looking for the watch and since he has all the apple products except the watch, I decided to give him the watch and he really liked it a lot. In conclusion, I think it depends on what and to whom you are gifting the presents too. If you already know that personal choice, you will end up giving the right thing which he/she will like, Otherwise the gift will useless and as a result, the money spent on that thing is misspent.