Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

CONTROVERSY EXIST OVER THE INCLUSION OF SPORT IN THE SCHOOL CURRICULUM. WHILE THERE ARE THOSE WHO BELIEVE THAT SUCH IS IMPORTANT, AND THEREFORE NECESSARY. OTHERS OPINE THAT PARTICIPATION IN SPORT SHOULD ONLY BE MADE VOLUNTARILY. IN THIS ESSAY, I WILL DISCUSS THE PRESENTED VIEWPOINTS AND EXPLAIN MY SUPPORT FOR THE LATTER. THERE ARE SALIENT REASONS WHY COMPULSORY SPORTS PARTICIPATION IS CONSIDERED UNNECESSARY BY SOME. FIRSTLY, IT USES UP THE TIME WHICH COULD BE BETTER SPENT ON ACADEMIC SUBJECTS. FOR INSTANCE, MATHS AND SCIENCE COURSES OFTEN DEMAND CONCENTRATION AND EXTRA STUDY PERIOD TO BE LEARNED FULLY. ADDITIONALLY, SOME STUDENTS ARE NOT SPORTY. SOME WOULD RATHER JUST STUDY OR DO THEIR OWN CRAFT. ENFORCING THEM TO ENGAGE IN SPORT AS PER THE SYLLABUS, IS LIKE COERCING THEM TO DO PERFORM SOMETHING AGAINST THEIR WILL AND CAPABILITY. ON THE OTHER HAND, THE BENEFITS OF SPORTS, ESPECIALLY IN THE MENTAL AND PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT OF CHILDREN AT AN IMPORTANT STAGE HAVE LONG BEEN PROVEN. THIS ENDEAVOUR ALLOWS CHILDREN TO BECOME FIT AND STRONG. IT FOSTERS BONE STRENGTH AND INCREASED BLOOD FLOW TO THE BRAIN AND OTHER VITAL ORGANS SO THAT THEY REMAIN HEALTHY AND WELL. AFTER ALL, AS THE OLD ADAGE GOES " A HEALTHY MIND LIVES IN A HEALTHY BODY" THUS, SPORTS HAS TO BE INFORCED. WHAT IS MORE IS THAT IT TEACHES BASIC LIFE SKILLS NECESSARY FOR THEM TO HAVE AS THEY MATURE SUCH AS TEAM BUILDING, COMPETITIVENESS AND COOPERATION- SKILLS THAT ACADEMIC COURSES CAN NEVER IMPART. FINALLY, ONE MAY DISCOVER HIS OR HER POTENTIAL FOR SPORTS. MOST POPULAR SPORTSMEN THESE DAYS DISCOVERED THEIR INNATE TALENT FROM THEIR PHYSICAL EDUCATION CLASSES. OVERALL, I FEEL THAT THE POSITIVES TOTALLY OUTWEIGH THE NEGATIVES OF ENFORCED SPORTS PARTICIPATION. THEREFORE, SPORTS INCLUSION IN ACADEMIC SYLLABI SHOULD REMAIN.