In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Around the globe, certain individuals are motivated to get a break from travelling or gaining professional sense after college. There are certain pros and cons associated with this. I will discuss some of the most common ones in detail. There are many advantages in getting off-time from studies and utilizing that time on exploring nature or doing internships. However, I will discuss the most prominent and effective ones. As universities require practical knowledge and some previous research in the field that you will choose in future so, getting the outer world skill helps a lot. For example, In U.S.A it is essential for a student to do some internship, to gain practical know-how, after high school. Also, the back-to-back workload given to students makes them frustrated, due to which they want a pause. Therefore, change becomes essential for them. Some disadvantages are also linked to this, from which I will describe a few most noticeable ones. Getting a pause for a year after your high school can cause time-waste, which results in student distraction from their studies. For instance, students who aimed to have a gap for a certain period mostly extend it. Moreover, it is found in a survey that most undergrads never continue their education after college because they found a way of producing money without further studies. That is why they become vulnerable and lose interest in education. In conclusion, it is stated that individuals around the globe are assumed to have a pause after their matriculation and explore new places or gain some practical understanding. There are many costs and benefits involved in this. Such as, it allows you to gain knowledge of outer nature, anyhow, it can also distract you from education. Furthermore, it gives you the opportunity to do whatever you want, but it also wastes much of your time that was meant to be devoted to university.