Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this world full of challenges, people tend to think that it is better to make children become competitive. While others believe that cooperation must be encouraged as this can result in a responsible individual. Having a sense of competition is indeed a challenge especially for children who are striving hard in all aspects. Children must be persuaded to be focused on to make them efficient in their responsibilities. Not only its encourages a child to do his best but also gives a feeling of fulfilment. In sports or studies, a child must have the sense of direction not only to be good but to be one of the best, For instance, being a top achiever in a class or gaining awards definitely boosts self-confidence. Thus it will help to maintain the kind of perseverance to be on top among the rest until his maturity. However, being competitive sometimes results in disappointments when failures or rejections happen thereby affecting a person's ego. It also results in conflicts among his competitors making it a serious matter. On the other hand, a child who is cooperative tends to be productive in all aspects. If a child performs his tasks accordingly and without pressure, a child can have sound well-being socially and emotionally. This would give him a sense of responsibility and independence, making that person grow maturely. In school especially when dealing with sports, we are asked to cooperate with our teammates to avoid conflicts thus giving harmonious deals or friendships among children. I certainly believe that a child must be taught how to be cooperative and respectful in all manners. We must avoid giving them pressures which somehow gives a feeling of competition amongst his classmates or friends. After all, we are equal and have to grow maturely and maintain peaceful relationships.