Many people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that it has only minor influence. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Our culture can be influenced by a variety of factors. Some believe it to base on a country where a person stems from, even though this factor is considered to have little effect on it by others. This essay will discuss why our birthplace plays an important role in defining our culture, and why its role is, in my opinion, can ultimately be shadowed by other aspects. The country where we originally come from has most certainly direct impact on our culture. After a person is born in a particular place, she or he will be exposed to and expected to absorb the cultural peculiarities of this place. This exposure during the formative years, as an example, is highly likely to define the very first cultural preferences of this person, such as food and clothing habits. Therefore, the significance of a birthplace in terms of our culture should not be left unnoticed. Nonetheless, I deem that the influence of our homeland may, in this regard, still succumb to other much more substantial factors than this. One of these is definitely role models, who represent an example for us in different aspects of our lives. Given that our parents are first people whom and whose behaviour along with interests we imitate, their contribution to our cultural code can be massive. This code is also further affected by a social bubble we exist in, the manner of life, values and traditions of which could completely be opposite to those led and followed by the majority of population in this culture. In conclusion, even if a home country is able to characterise a person's culture to some extent, its power, from my perspective, is less than that this person's parents and social environment posses.