In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

As education is the priority in many nations, it is common that the contemporary young generation spends more time studying even after school hours, and this situation is mainly forced by their parents. In my opinion, I believe that it is negative to offspring and the community. First and foremost, the main disadvantage of overwhelmed academic tasks among young students is that it causes a high percentage of mental illness in recent years. This is because the young generation is at the age of entertaining with peers and learning about the world. However, what they are required to concentrate on is better academic performance and hardworking study, which is hard to trick their fancy towards their life. As a consequence, adolescent depression, autistic and suicide has become more often nowadays. Furthermore, another drawback of long study time is that the society which the students live in are short of diversity. To be specific, parents require their children to study hard because they hope the offspring can find a proper and well-paid job after graduation. Although a solid fundamental knowledge and a perfect academic certificate are essential on many occasions, what truly determines someone’s prospect is the complex abilities including time management, leadership, teamwork spirit and creative imagination, and those abilities may not be able to learn from textbooks. In that case, the job market in this community will not find all-around talents if every child only concentrates on studying and ignored developing practical skills. In conclusion, even though it is extremely normal that students spend a large amount of time studying, I believe that it causes serious problems for both children and our society.