Art and music are considered some of the fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today’s modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music at school?

It is widely accepted that art and music are essential aspects of society. In my opinion, I believe that they still play a vital part in this era of technology, and schools should treat art and music as they have done in the past. Some people would argue that art and music are no longer relevant in today’s society as the major emphasis is on technological development. I believe, however, that they have an indispensable role in cultural and social aspects. One important element of these subjects is that it raises awareness about social issues. In other words, works of art and music enable citizens to express their opinions, thoughts and feelings clearly and strongly about negative social situations they are faced with. Therefore, they have the ability to drive individuals to take actions for the betterment of society. With regard to art and music at school, although I think that schools do not necessarily have to increase the number of lessons for these subjects, I strongly feel that they are crucial for children’s development and ought not to be replaced by other subjects. The reason for this is that learning art and music promotes overall academic achievement. For example, art is closely connected to culture and helps students to be familiar with the historical or cultural context in a particular time period since many children better process information visually. In conclusion, my own view is that even in a society where technology is valued, the public reaps the benefits of art and music. It is advisable that schools provide children with sufficient opportunities for developing artistic and musical abilities.