Some believe that a tax on companies should be introduced to reduce industrial pollution. Others believe that other measures should be taken to solve the problem. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Industrial pollution has been one of the major contributors to environmental degradation, like water and air pollution, which has stemmed mostly from the activities of large conglomerates. The government, however, as a way of curbing and ensuring safe practices by such companies in the industrial sector, believes that introducing taxes as a penalty is the best solution, but others are of the opinion that there are other measures that can be employed to resolve such a problem. While I agree with the latter, I stand firmly with the former as the best method for handling such a matter. On one hand, the introduction of taxes has its demerits in the cooperate world, that is, It has a huge impact on the profit margins of any company. One of the main goals of the companies doing the business that they do is to generate wealth and income so that they remain functional from revenue gained, however, the introduction of taxes then leads to a reduction in those profits made, which has an adverse effect on the income of the employees and dividend payouts, thereby threatening their survival and the dismissal of a number of workers to try to cover such costs. Moreover, it is the government's responsibility to come up with educational programmes and campaigns that will teach and hand out knowledge to these firms on how best to reduce the emissions and manage waste produced which affects the environment so that it can be clean and safe for humanity. On the other hand, the imposition of taxes might be the most applicable way to ensure standardized and safe practices by firms in the industrial business. Such an act will make sure that companies are responsible and liable for whatever problem they cause because taxes affect the business's surpluses, they will try by all means necessary to work within the regulations of the government to avoid conflict with the state. Moreover, contamination of air and water sources leads to diseases such as asthma, tuberculosis, bronchitis and diarrhoea which have a terminal effect on human civilization, thus, the income from those taxes will be channelled to help out citizen who would have suffered harshly for example, cover their medical bills and insurances. In conclusion, the use of taxes by the government as a way to control business activities in the industrial sector might be opposed by many, however, l believe it to be the best solution in order to encourage responsibility and companies to be liable for the problems caused.