Some parents believe that watching TV and playing computer games should be limited and substituted by reading books. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

It is widely noted that TV’s and computer games have become a fixation with youngsters, and parents believe that the time youngsters spend in front of the TV and electronic games should be reduced and diverted to reading or studying. In my opinion, I agree with this viewpoint and this essay will explain the details around this. Firstly, watching TV and playing computer games have many advantages, when it is moderately done. Starting with videogames, children are introduced to the latest usage of technologies with this. In addition, there are a few games that provide practice in logical thinking, and problem-solving methods. For instance, Puzzle Game on a PlayStation is considered the best for children to improve their analytical skills. Reading books, on the other hand, is crucial, as they provide active learning skills for children whereas video games are passive. For instance, each individual will have a different view in perceiving and imagining a story, while TV’s portray the story only from a single angle, which deprives the capability of a child to imagine and create the story in his own terms. To conclude, even though TV’s and PC games have their good qualities, there must be a balance maintained between active and passive activities. All these are required for the comprehensive development of a child, and it is the duty of the parents to know to prioritize and allocate time equally.