The technology development has affected social relationships from person to person. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has shown a rapid advancement in the modern era with an increase in modes of communication available for people to interact. This trend has its own merits and demerits. While there are many benefits in terms of distance communication and staying up-to-date, I believe the drawbacks including less family time and psychological issues far outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, there are various pros of the social media apps.The principal merit is that one can remain in touch with their loved ones sitting thousands of miles away. This means individuals going abroad for job prospects will never feel homesick. For instance, my brother who is in Mexico calls on whats app and inquires about all family members and we are also assured that he is doing fine over there. In addition, by using Facebook and Instagram, we can stay abreast with the latest developments in other people's lives. This is helpful, as we can share their grief and happiness online which gives them the strength to bear the loss or elates them in their happy moments. On the other hand, the technology brings with it a number of drawbacks.The major downside of such online activities is that we forget that we have a family at home where we live.To explain,spending so much time on social media means our kids and spouses who need our attention the most are being ignored. For example, there was a report in Australia that attributed the increased divorce rate to the excessive use of digital platforms.The report clarified that the excessive involvement of individuals in mobile apps was a major reason for heated arguments ultimately leading to separation. Moreover, continuous engagement in online activity leads to depression and anxiety among users. This is because people start comparing their life's misery with other individual's prosperity. In conclusion, though there are some benefits of technological advances in far-off communication and remaining current with social developments, the demerits of health issues and oblivion from close family matters outweigh its benefits.