Libraries are irrelevant in the age of the internet and should not be publicly funded. Do you agree or disagree?

These days as technological advancements are getting more and more prevalent, it is widely concerned whether libraries will continue their prosperity in the future. I strongly advocate that libraries should be financially sustained by the government, due to the fact that they play an integral role in society. To begin with, the world is becoming more dependent on digital devices, which doesn't mean that people should cease the functions of many conventional places that serve the public. For instance, there are many individuals to whom the idea of reading books, studying and working appeals so much, that the eradication of libraries as a whole may lead to many protests and injustice. That is to say, not only will political parties suffer from such a situation, but also the nation of the country. Secondly, there are vast numbers of publishers who profit from their books publicised in libraries, which indicates that after closing them, paper books may result in extinction. People with poor eyesight, to take as an example, will struggle a lot with reading digitally, which denotes that libraries are not irrelevant in our digital world. Moreover, the shutdown of public libraries can consequently result in a drop in literacy rates, because many people will not be exposed to any paper materials. To conclude, I firmly believe that libraries are not to be closed, since it plays a fundamental part in our social lives and may account for multifold repercussions after doing so. In the future, it is hoped that libraries will continue working as they do nowadays.