Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there has been an intense discussion over whether museums and art galleries should be opened to the public for free. Although many people hold the view that no charging to museums allows visitors to enjoy these cultural facilities equally, I would argue that the drawbacks of cancelling admission fees can overweigh its merits. It is admitted that abolition the entrance fees to museums and art galleries can encourage more citizens to visit and enjoy these cultural facilities. However, a larger amount of visitors can also put more pressure on the maintenance and management. Without the admission fees as an important financial resource, the daily operation of these facilities will be problematic, as they may suffering from the shortage of staff and lack of profits to make up for the increasing operating costs at the same time. Another potential adverse impact is that masses of visitors to museums could also lead to a loss of enjoyment. For example, in the art exhibition, visitors may be unable to stop in front of a piece of work to fully appreciate, because the gallery is too crowded and people need to keep moving on so that can guarantee everyone will get the chance to see those works equally. In that case, although no admission fees will not encourage more people to appreciate art, the true lovers and fans may be disturbed. In conclusion, compared to the potential benefits, eliminating the admission fee to some gallery could bring more drawbacks, such as putting more pressure on the daily operation of those cultural facilities, and also leading to a less favourable visitor experience.