Traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. This has negative effectsn family and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, fast- food from other countries sometimes can be more popular than traditional local food in many countries. Some people believe that it has harmful impacts on both families and society. I totally agree with this statement. It is obvious that eating fast food can have detrimental effects on an individual’s health. Fast food is widely promoted mainly because of the advantages of time-saving and low cost. For example, parents who are working and do not have enough time or budget to prepare a meal with balanced nutrition would buy burgers and chips instead, as that fast food is very easy to go and cheap. However, eating junk food for a long time can lead to many diseases, such as obesity and diabetes, which can in adverse increase the family budgets as those fast- food lovers would spend more money to lose weight and get medical treatment. Moreover, being overly dependent on junk food can pose an equally severe impact on society. Firstly, more people with health problems caused by over-eating junk food will lead to increased pressure on the healthcare budgets and facilities in the society. The limited civil budget and resources will be driven up, which can potentially affect the other aspects of social development, such as education and scientific research. Secondly, international fast food can replace traditional food in some places and cause the loss of local identity. Citizens often have special emotions about the place they belong to through local specialities. However, international fast food is sold across the world with no respect to the localities, which could turn the food in every place to the same. Consequently, people, especially the young generation, are likely to disregard their local traditions, which lead to food culture homogenization worldwide. In conclusion, I believe that the prevalence of international fast food can cause detrimental impacts to families and society in many aspects.