The education of young people is the main priority in countries around the world. Some people believe that educating adults who cannot read or write is essential for the society and more funding should be made available for it. Do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that countries must prioritize mainly the education of children. However, others opine to have societies start funding illiterate adults to learn. I agree with the view and, this essay will explain the reasons for adult schooling. Firstly, when a person struggles with reading or writing, social impacts are profound. Over a while, they develop low self-esteem, feel emotions such as shame and fear. For example, being illiterate, the individual would avoid situations where they have to communicate and make decisions. Secondly, unlearned adults are more susceptible to live destitutely. In developing countries, people living in poverty are either unemployed or work in low-skilled jobs. As a result of unemployment and to make ends meet, children are sent to work, while others get involved in theft and other crimes. With the funds, they can study in vocational training schools to develop skills to earn a decent living; and literacy training which raises reading proficiency. Lastly, uneducated individuals are prone to health issues. Due to the fact, they have trouble reading and understanding safety protocols, tend to have more workplace accidents and prolonged recovery period. Crucial information like the inability to read prescription labels and drug overdose is more common among these people. We can ask them to repeat instructions and assess their baseline information about their health before proceeding further. In conclusion, I reiterate that it is immensely vital for adults to be literate in today's society and, we must take urgent measures and invest more to educate these adults.