Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In today's world, there is ongoing debate about how best to punish people who break the law. Some opine that certain prisoners should engage in civic duty rather than go to jail. I completely agree with this viewpoint because it provides them with community engagement and allows them to change their behaviour. On the one hand, offenders should be allowed to participate in social services without money as it gives them a chance to be a part of the community. That is to say that instead of sitting in jail, they could clean up parks, help at community events, and so on. Consequently, a positive relationship between offenders and community members leads to stronger social bonds and cohesion. For example, in countries like Bangladesh, many lawbreakers are allowed to work in unpaid social tasks as such they might connect with other people effectively. On the other hand, unpaid community work can help offenders change their behaviour. In other words, by working with others and doing something positive, they might learn new skills and feel like they're making a difference. As a result, these wrongdoers use their skills later when they are looking for a job. For instance, in the USA, some states have implemented programs where offenders can participate in vocational training and skill-building workshops as part of their civic duty requirements so that they might be able to learn valuable skills and may use them when their obligations are fulfilled. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the notion that authorities should allow some offenders to participate in voluntary services in place of going to jail because it helps them to engage with their community as well as helps them to change their behaviour through achieving knowledge on different skills.