Most societies have homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

There are homeless people in most countries ruled by the capitalist system. Some individuals consider that, the best solution to handle this problem is supporting them financially. To my mind, while good in some respects, it is generally not the duty of the citizens. In some cases, it is a rational choice to rather giving cash to needy person. It is a bit hard to predict what kind of thing a person needs. In order to compensate for the asymmetric information, we can help them by giving them money, therefore, they can buy whatever they want. However, there can be abuse. For example, after receiving monetary assistance, they can spend it in a harmful way such as buying alcoholic beverages or drugs. To prevent such situations, public aid the homeless by providing them with basic needs such as food and clothes. However, although society does it for the sake of humanity, it should not be under their responsibility. Government has to take care of the citizens living on the streets. The state can ensure them necessary demands in return for their labour. For instance, in the developed East Asian countries such as Singapore and Japan, the government allocates money from the budget in order to attract the homeless into work. They receive food, cloth and accommodation to clean the streets. For that reason, it is impossible to see any beggar in these countries. The state's consideration of such people plays an important role in their return to society as useful individuals. In conclusion, it is nice behaviour to give money to person in need, but sometimes good intentions can be abused and can lead to distrust of the homeless. However, monetary aid will not solve the issue deeply, therefore, state intervention is necessary.