Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is observed that there is an increase in the number of people delaying parenthood. This essay will explain some main reasons for the situation before reaching a conclusion whether its merits outweigh the drawbacks. One of the main reasons why people nowadays choose to give birth later in their life is because they are passionate about pursuing their career. If in the past, the former generation prioritized the importance of getting married and giving birth as soon as they could, this conception is no longer persuasive to the latter generation. People recently find it difficult to obtain a high position in their jobs, especially when they already have children; as a result, they may decide to sacrifice their own happiness in order to spend their time working and improving social status. Besides, many children suffering from mental and physical pains when their parents divorced after couples of years is also a factor that makes adults hesitate to have children while they are young. The more breakup they witness in marriage, the more they decline to give birth early. This tendency has brought both positive and negative impacts on society in general. On the one hand, delaying parenthood would enable people to devote more time to learning new skills and training courses, which may help them become experts in their fields and seize higher positions in their career. This probably leads to a contribution to a nation with more skilled workers, which helps that country to considerably develop. However, it is undeniable to say that giving birth to children later in one’s life would decrease the proportion of people in the working-age of one country that imbalance the biology and affect the national GDP. Since there are fewer children born every year, the working-age staff is not enough for enterprises to operate and would adversely affect the economy of that nation. In conclusion, I believe that pursuing a career and the fear of divorcing are factors that prevent people from giving birth at a young age and this situation would bring more disadvantages for society than advantages.