Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of automobiles on roads is increasing rapidly these days which is aligned with the number of road accidents. Consequently, some authorities opine that all driving licence holders must take a driving test periodically, rather than taking it only once in their life. The following essay will discuss both the positive and negative sides of the repeat driving test. Personally, I believe that this process has more benefits than drawbacks. It is undeniable that taking a driving test each year or so would have some distinct disadvantages for people. One of the major drawbacks is the time and preparation it would require. In addition, people would have to pay every time to take the test. Finally, they also believe that it would cost more for the government, as they must provide additional manpower in the driving test centres. Despite all the negative aspects, performing a driving test on an annual basis or so would have some significant benefits for everybody. Firstly, by having a repeat driving test, each driver would be updated with all driving regulations. Secondly, drivers would be more cautious and more careful when they drive, as their license will be checked regularly. Thirdly, it will reduce the number of traffic accidents, because the driver's physical condition would also be checked as a part of the test. For example, each driver's eyesight would be examined as some driver might have problems with their views which may cause accidents. Thus repeat driving test will drastically reduce road accidents. In conclusion, conducting a driving test periodically indeed has some drawbacks, but I do believe that it has more benefits for everybody. By taking the test regularly, people will have more awareness of their driving style which will reduce the number of road accidents to a great extent.