Obesity was once considered a disease of adults; however, it is becoming increasingly common among children. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to help children stay healthy?

Despite the past tendency to consider obesity an exclusively adult condition, the number of children suffering from this disease has grown significantly. From my point of view, this worrying issue caused by a sedentary lifestyle and an unhealthy diet could be easily tackled if parents and health specialists maintained a united front on the question of regular exercising and healthy eating. Abnormal and excessive fat accumulation in children is believed to be the result of a combination of inactivity and junk food consumption. Firstly, having fast food chains developed around the world, children have begun suffering from an increased intake of energy-dense foods that are high in fat. Not only does this type of dieting contribute to weight gain because of the high-calorie containment, but it also leads to various diseases such as like diabetes and high blood pressure. Secondly, in the light of technological advancement over the past decades, the use of computers and television has significantly increased in children resulting in reducing their level of physical activity. Having conducted research, for example, Health Canada has revealed that the percentage of overweight children increased by 40% across Canada, compared to the 1990 statistics when McDonald's and PlayStation were on their verge of entering the Canadian market. However, by ensuring collaborative work between parents and well-qualified health professionals, such as dietologist diabetologists and fitness instructors, the issue of weight gain in children can be addressed. Having health specialists create sports programs and specialized diet plans for youngsters will cast a shadow on how to appropriately achieve weight loss. In accordance with these plans, it will be parents’ responsibility to give their children healthy food and encourage them to take regular exercises in order to win the battle against overweight in children. To illustrate, after conducting a study, the Children ’s Health journal has discovered that the approach of combining parental influence with sports and dietetics plans resulted successfully in 70% of youngsters enabling them to lose up to 25% of excessive fat accumulation. In conclusion, in the light of children's physical inactivity and fast food consumption, the number of children with obesity has dramatically risen over the past years. Nevertheless, this disturbing issue can be addressed by having health specialists and parents work collaboratively on children ’s sport and alimentary habits.