Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Securing personal identity is of paramount importance to protect ourselves from unwanted criminal activities. It is considered by some that sharing data and information about ourselves in the journal of science, fields of businesses as well as academics is a good thing, while others argue that it is too valuable to publicly shared. In this essay, I will discuss both of these arguments and will present my point of view. On the one hand, those who support this idea argue that exposing our personal information for the intention of academic and business would deliver some benefits. By and large, by presenting our personal data in the published works, people who have a common interest would find us easier. Perhaps an outstanding example of this is the academic journal. In fact, prospective researchers tend to seek partners who have similarities in research interests and background of knowledge. This information, however, can only be found in academic papers and professional networking sites such as LinkedIn. Consequently, people are likely to expand their networking with those who have similarities in a particular interest. On the other hand, people who have the opposite argument believe that providing confidential data is considered a dangerous and reckless action. It is often said that people could steal valuable and sensitive information easily through our online accounts and publications, which might increase the risk of getting hacked. Take data theft as an example. Indeed, hackers are likely to copy our data which can be assessed freely from the Internet for illegal purposes, such as perform financial transactions in the online marketplace. As a result, cybercrimes, which are considered the most prevalent criminal action, would eventually surge in the upcoming years. To sum up, as far as I am concerned, putting our identities in some publications and accessible accounts presents advantages and drawbacks. Even though it allows people to expand their business and academic circle, it might introduce the threat of data steals. In my opinion, people should be aware of the danger of publishing too much information, thus, data protection would be necessary to mitigate the risk of getting hacked.