The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are older every day. Similarly, our environment is also destroyed more and more. It is thought by someone that a country should contribute most of the money to medical research to help people's health instead of protecting nature from destruction. Personally, I disagree with this statement due to two reasons. To begin with, citizens need a great environment for living. Since nowadays, our natural resources were unproperly consumed to produce things for humanity, they are unpredictably decreased every single day. As a result, our surroundings are not perfect anymore and this affects human severely. For example, illegal deforestation which can be seen often leads to the death of lives, including human, despite the advancement of the medical field. Therefore, the government should not provide money only for health research. Moreover, nature is the original sources of medical products. The number of health-related things is produced from natural resources, from medicines to instruments. Thus, if the environmental resources are not protected, medical research may not be able to develop. For example, radioactive elements from mining is an important component for cancer treatment and detection and various plants are used to synthesize numerous types of drugs. Thus, a country should see the importance of the nature as well as the medical industry. To conclude, in my opinion, I do not agree that the government provides the environment part less money than the medical part since they are equally important. Consequently, it is better to take care of both branches properly.