many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The use of plastic bags has become a serious global problem to cause environmental pollution due to the increase of rubbish. I partially agree with this, for it poses detrimental damage to many wild creatures regardless of the fact that plastic bags are essential for consumers to enjoy shopping. On the one hand, the growing reliance of shoppers on plastic bags leads to a dramatic rise of trash, which can harm the environment and wild animals. In other words, more lands are contaminated as the level of dangerous chemicals are emitted from burning plastic wastes. For instance, hazardous materials such as acid and nitrogen are constantly produced in nature, making lands more infertile as they lack important nutrients. This not only discourages vegetables and fruits from growing but also many wild animals from finding their habitats. Furthermore, a number of marine creatures have been killed by the plastic materials that people carelessly throw into the ocean as they accidentally swallow them, which makes them suffocated. Thus, huge sacrifices have already been made by the growing amount of plastic waste. Therefore, the public should immediately stop their dependence on plastic shopping bags. On the other hand, removing plastic bags will increase the inconvenience for consumers as they play a significant role in carrying their products. Indeed, the loss of these bags will discourage their shopping, making individuals less likely to purchase more items. Since they are more likely to be reluctant to hold many things in their own hands, their motivations to buy various items will decline dramatically, which can lead to the stagnation of the national economy in the end. Moreover, it can promote more poverty as people stop buying products due to the growing sense of trouble. Consequently, the deprivation of plastic bags will have a negative influence on their behaviour in shopping and the economy as well. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that plastic bags should be eliminated because they cause serious damage to the environment and wild creatures both on the land and the ocean. However, the inconvenience that consumers may experience in shopping can stop the progress of the national economy since they would not like to hold their products in their hands.