Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The demand of fossil fuels have increased significantly in the recent years, mainly due to industrialization. Therefore, it is essential to find these natural resources in inaccessible areas for survival of mankind. In my opinion, the merits weigh greater than the demerits as per the current scenario. To begin with, Exploring fossil fuels in remote locations can improve the scarcity of these resources. Countries with abundance of these resources can help other countries who lack these resources through export trade. This exploration process can help to cover the global demand for these resources. Also, this activity will ease the dependancy on oil rich countries. For example, the gulf countries can help poorer countries which lack oil and gas deposits instead of supplying majority their resource to China and USA. Secondly, the soaring high prices of oil and gas can be reduced globally. Since, natural resources are non-renewable and the demand based on the current situation is very high, the prices will rise up eventually, beyond control in many countries. For instance, In a developing country like India, the prices have already increased to hundred rupees per litre. It has been predicted that these prices may further increase upto fifty per cent in the next five years. Hence, it essential for countries like India to find a new source within their country. Despite the pros, there are some major cons in this exploration process. Drilling activity which is the major process for obtaining these resources will affect the ecosystem irreversibly. Water pollution due to oil spillage in the oceans and rivers is also another major concern. For instance, in 2011, there was unfortunate accident in Nigeria which led to oil spillage in the ocean. This oil contamination saw many fisherman in the country struggle to make their daily income. To conclude, Although there are some great disadvantages in the process of exploring new areas to find oil and gas, the only possible solution would be to find an alternate resource. Till then I believe, find new sources in untouched locations will benefit to meet the requirements and control the prices.